Pearl of Great Price

When he finds a pearl of great price, he goes and sells all that he has and buys it.
Matt 13:46

Lord, discovering your call for me as an artist is like finding a valuable pearl. It brings me joy, it’s prayerful and it has provided a meaningful way for me to make a living.

You, LORD, are just in all your ways, faithful in all your works.
Psalm 145:17

I trust that you will show me the best way to invest my time, money, skills and imagination towards this gift you have given me.

Whatever you do, do from the heart, as for the Lord and not for others,
Colossians 3:23

Lord, I am thankful for the opportunity to serve you. Bind my heart to yours, so that the artwork I create is united with your good will.

God is faithful and will not let you be tried beyond your strength;
1 Corinthians 10:13

Lord, when I am tempted to agree with my overly critical voice, you send your Spirit to guide me. You give me courage when I doubt my abilities.

The kingdom of heaven is like a treasure buried in a field, which a person finds and hides again, and out of joy goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.
Matt 13:44

Jesus, you are the treasure! I gladly offer my artistic talent to you. I pray that it may reveal you as the beautiful pearl and lead others to discover you more intimately.

Amen.

contributed by Veronica Walsh, children’s book illustrator

3 responses to “Pearl of Great Price

  1. Shirley Shibley

    Veronica, your work displays the honesty of your dedication to the Lord. It will undoubtedly bear fruit because of this.

    Shirley

  2. Ah, I feel refreshed and encouraged, Veronica! No longer can you just say you’re an illustrator, as made evident by your posts recently, you are also an actual factual writer! What a double anointing God has given you! Hugs, Nancy

  3. marilyn donahue

    Veronica, your quotes are some of my favorites. They remind me of when I was writing a women’s devotional book and decided the title should be The Pearl Is in the Oyster. We must be on the same track, for the “pearl of great price” always touches my heart.

Leave a Reply

