Some Favorite “Writerly” Scriptures

Here are a few quotes from Scripture that have been encouraging to me:

“”Brothers and sisters, be all the more eager to confirm your call and election, for if you do this, you will never stumble.”  2 Peter 1:10

“Our inner nature is being renewed day by day.”  2 Corinthians 4:16

These first two have helped me confirm that being a writer is God’s plan for me.   And when the rejections are coming in quicker (and more abundantly than I’d like!) the following are a big help.

“Cast all your anxiety on Him, because he cares for you.”  1 Peter 5:7

“Be still before the Lord, and wait patiently for Him.”  Psalm 37:7

The quote below tells me that it is my responsibility to continue to use my God-given gifts as He intended.

“Master, you handed over to me five talents; see, I have made five more talents.”  Matthew 25:20

This last quote is not from the Bilble, but it is one I remember my father saying.  I was barely out of my teens when he died, I remember him as a spiritual person, and I fondly remember his words of wisdom.  This was his favorite:

“God helps those who help themselves.”

It has been my guide throughout my life.

Marjorie Flathers

One response to “Some Favorite “Writerly” Scriptures

  1. Thanks Marge for sharing these beautiful scriptures that encourage and inspire you.
    Take Care,
    Veronica

Leave a Reply

