Climbing the Ladder

I love writing for the no-pay/low-pay markets! Every year, along with my book deadlines, I try to contribute regularly to three to  five different publishers who pay me little or nothing at all.

There are a variety of benefits, but the one benefit I want to share about today is the fact that editors working in the no-pay/low-pay market are usually interested in climbing the ladder. They don’t want to make a career working for pennies, but are mostly in their current position as a starting point.

Over the years, there have been numerous times when an editor I’ve developed a relationship with in a no-pay/low-pay market, suddenly announces to me that she’s got a better paying position with a bigger publisher. And then she asks me the question every writer dreams about, “Will you write something for me in my new position with this new publisher?”

If you’re on the fence about writing frequently for the no-pay/low-pay market, consider this possibility. Establish yourself as a reliable and trustworthy writer in these markets and chances are that when your editor lands a bigger job with a better publisher, she’ll invite you to climb the ladder of success with her.

-contributed by Nancy I. Sanders

One response to “Climbing the Ladder

  1. That is encouraging news to remember about this market. Thanks!
    ~Tina

Leave a Reply

