A Walk on the Beach

The alarm goes off, but I’m already awake. I feel like a child on Christmas morning. A gift awaits me and I’m excited to receive it.

I dress in a hurry and head out the door. A hot cup of coffee, a sweatshirt and a handful of quarters accompany me. I’m going to the beach. 

Traveling down the freeway, I sing along with the pop tunes. “Ain’t no mountain high enough…” I dedicate this one to Jesus and sing it real loud. 

There’s plenty of parking at the beach. The summer crowds are gone. The sun is warm and the breeze is cool. I trek across the bright, clean sand to the ocean’s side. 

“Hello God!” I call out across the ocean. A misty spray marks the beginning of our walk together. 

We head along the water’s edge and toward the pier. I start to tell God everything; the good the bad and the ugly. He listens patiently.

We pass a man and woman holding hands. I thank God for my loving husband.

Kids are playing catch me if you can with the incoming waves. I thank God for family and friends.

A surfer glides along the crest of a wave. I thank God for the grace that propels us day by day.

 A seagull soars with the wind. I thank God for the Spirit that draws me near to Him.

We take rest on a sand berm. The waves in front of us roar. I tell Him that sometimes I just can’t hear past the noise. A few minutes of silence go by, then I sense that it’s His turn to talk.

I look beyond the waves. The ocean seems to go on forever.

My love goes on forever, I hear Him say.

The deep green water looks so strong and immovable.

My love can move the immovable, I hear Him tell me.

I imagine all the things in the ocean that I can’t see. He reminds me that all is in His care.

We look out and look in. I feel, and sense, and wonder.

Catalina looks close enough to touch and I smile with His assurance and peace. “Lord, you are my rock and my strength!”

I thank Him for our walk together. “Oh, what a beautiful gift!”

contributed by Veronica Walsh, children’s book illustrator

7 responses to “A Walk on the Beach

  1. Veronica, thanks so much for sharing with us your intimate time with God. So inspiring!

    Gloria

  2. Veronica, this made me weep with joy!
    -Nancy

  3. Very beautiful! Thank you!

  4. This is SO BEAUTIFUL, Veronica! I was truly moved reading it. You are fortunate to live close to the beach. God bless you.

    Marge

  5. Thanks everyone for your comments. I’m sure we’ve each had our cherished moments with God and that’s what keeps us moving forward.

    God bless your day!

    Veronica

  6. Shirley Shibley

    Oh, Veronica, your words are so moving and beautiful! Your descriptions brought me in spirit to the beach alongside you, and your conversation with God and word pictures gave me happy shivers!

    Shirley

  7. Veronica, this is a truly beautiful poem. Yes, a poem! I was very moved by your images, your rhythm, and the way your words fall together to form a praise song!

    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

