New Year, New Expectations

“Our inner nature is being renewed day by day.”  2 Corinthians 4:16

The best time for me to spend time alone with God is the last thing at night and the first thing in the morning.  This seems to “bookend” my day, and it keeps me always in the light of Christ.  And, it can help my writing, too.

At night, when I sink, thankfully, under the quilted comforter, I like to think of God as my comforter and thank Him for another day in His care.  I try to review the things that were right, and wrong, about the day, and I’m grateful that Jesus walked with me every step of the way.  If I have a particular writing problem that I’m struggling with, I place this in God’s hands, too, and try to empty my mind as I wait for a solution.  Sometimes, I’ll fall asleep soon after, but I’m often surprised when the answer comes to me in a dream or I’ll become aware of it when I wake up the next morning.

I like to be up by 7:00 a.m., but if I wake up earlier, this is another perfect opportunity to spend time alone with God, asking for His help and guidance throughout the day.  I then focus on the writing I hope to accomplish that day.  This is a wonderful time to get new ideas and incorporate them into what I am working on.

Also, as part of my time with God, I enjoy reading Daily Word every day.  The message for today, January 4, says in part, that every day we have the opportunity to begin with a fresh, new, positive attitude because Christ makes all things new.  He is our life and our energy in abundance and helps us to find new ways to be open, creative, and innovative, opening doors to new ways of thinking, feeling, and being.

This is my expectation and my resolve for the new year!

Contributed by Marjorie Flathers

3 responses to “New Year, New Expectations

  1. Marjorie, this is LOVELY.
    Sherri

  2. What a beautiful way to start and end the day.
    -Veronica

  3. Thanks so much, Sherri and Veronica. Your comments mean so much to me! Marge

Leave a Reply

