A Tribute to Nursery Rhymes

It’s amazing to realize that my mother practically weaned me and my sister on nursery rhymes. She was reading these wonderful bits of poetry to us before we could walk. We knew about peas porridge, London bridge, little Boy Blue, and Baa, Baa, Black Sheep. Together we walked a crooked mile, saw silver bells and cockle shells, and tried to figure out how you pull out a plum from a Christmas pie.

Nursery rhymes opened up my imagination as I created pictures in my head when my mother recited those melodic words and phrases. They invited me to learn to memorize and then challenged me to learn to read the words for myself. Nursery rhymes were instrumental in developing my love for reading.

I don’t know who invented nursery rhymes, but those writers have brought lots of joy and pleasure to millions of children throughout the world.

Do you write in rhyme? Who knows? Maybe one day the little poems children recite may be one of yours!

Contributed by Catherine L. Osornio

4 responses to “A Tribute to Nursery Rhymes

  1. I write in rhyme sometimes 🙂

    Cheep cheep little bird

    Cheep cheep little bird
    You are upset I have heard
    Is that because you can’t fly?
    Is not hard, you have to try

    Don’t just wonder in your nest
    Be brave and try your best
    Flap your wings fast in the air
    The wind will help you to make it fair

    Cheep cheep little bird
    You are happy I have heard
    You can fly and sing so loud
    You made yourself really proud

  2. What a great reminder of the most famous children’s poetry of all! Thanks! -Nancy

  3. Yes, a reminder of how the generational impact of writing is so important.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Shirley

Leave a Reply

