The Old Lady

This month our theme here on our blog is about poetry and writing in rhyme. Here’s a short poem I wrote to start off our month of posts with a smile. Enjoy!

The Old Lady

There’s an old lady living at my house,
I wish I knew her name.
Something about her is familiar,
Yet nothing is the same.

She can’t remember what I say,
From one hour to the next,
And if I drop a little hint
She’s absolutely vexed.

She groans when she bends over,
And moans when she stands straight,
Complaining “Things don’t work right,
Must be that extra weight.”

I try to pretend she’s not there,
Which amuses her, I think,
For when I caught her reflection
I’m sure I saw her wink.

I’ve threatened her eviction—
She’s getting in my way;
But she just ignores me
And clutters up my day.

So watch out for those old ladies,
Don’t invite them, nope, no way,
Because they don’t just come to visit,
They’re in the house to stay!

-Contributed by Shirley Shibley

3 responses to “The Old Lady

  1. gloriastockstill

    Shirley, I LOVED your poem!!! Such a creative way to bemoan the aging process!

    Gloria

  2. Shirley,
    I’m laughing out loud! This was so fun to read. This lady can’t be ignored–I try everyday! Thanks for putting a smile on my face.
    Veronica :0)

  3. Shirley, you made me laugh out loud. What fun. I’m going to watch out for any old ladies in my house.

    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

