A Unique Writing Place

Summer isn’t officially over, yet school has already begun for my kids. They began the other week, so I’ve had to put on my chauffeur’s cap and make my way to three different schools to drop off and pick up my four children. With their varied class schedules, and because the parking situation can be a challenge, I have found myself sitting in my car for a good thirty minutes of uninterrupted time, waiting for their dismissal.

This down time is a perfect opportunity to work on my writing projects. I’ll bring along one of my work folders and write up notes, rework a chapter, make an outline, or sift through my Children’s Writers Market Guide. Except for the cars zooming by, all is quiet and there are virtually no interruptions. It’s amazing how much work I can get done with this unique change of scenery.

A writer needs to learn to write in all areas and under a variety of circumstances. At this time my unique spot is the front seat of my car. Next year it may be something totally different. I just need to be open to the writing opportunities, wherever they may bring present themselves.

Contributed by Catherine L. Osornio

2 responses to “A Unique Writing Place

  1. Ah yes, I remember those days, not only with my kids but later with my grandkids. I wasn’t as smart as you and didn’t bring my writing material. Good for you to put those moments to best use.

    Shirley

  2. gloriastockstill

    Catherine, what an effecient use of time! No wonder you get so much done.

    Gloria

Leave a Reply

