New Space Makes a Splash

This summer I spent a lot of time in my studio getting artwork ready for the Illustrators Showcase at the SCBWI Summer Conference. I like spending time in my studio since it is the most productive place for me to work.

Before Christmas, my husband and I decided to remodel the laundry room. Since my office is adjacent to it, it would get a facelift, too. For nearly five months, I worked in the corner of the living room with supplies scattered about the house.

You see, the remodel was supposed to take only a couple of weekends, but, if you have ever been under construction, you know that is usually not the case. I didn’t gripe about the time it took, though, because I knew in the end it would be perfect for me and I would love it.

Thanks to my husband and other workers, the laundry room functions well, and my studio is beautiful. New paint and floors have transformed my little office into a beautiful new space. It still has a freshness about it that is so nice to come to every morning.

I hope you had a wonderful summer. And, wherever you found yourself working, I hope it, too, was a pleasant and productive place.

contributed by Veronica Walsh, children’s book illustrator

3 responses to “New Space Makes a Splash

  1. Veronica, I’m so happy for you with your new studio! There’s nothing like having “your own space,” and this sounds wonderful! May you have many happy, blessed (and productive :-)days there.

    Marge

  2. Thanks to having seen your studio I try to picture it in “new clothes.” Happy for you to have it.

    Shirley

  3. Thanks girls! I love my new studio! :o)
    Cheers!
    Veronica

Leave a Reply

