Where I Wrote This Summer

It’s hard to believe summer is almost over. Where did it go?!!

I’ve always worked alone, secluded in my office, because I felt outside things or people distracted me from my writing. I never listened to music as I wrote because I thought I would pay attention to it and not write. This summer I have found my assumptions were not completely true.

I have worked at Burger King, in the Pizza Hut at our Super Target, at the library and in my garden. The garden was the only truly quiet place, if you don’t count the buzzing of bees, fluttering of birds wings and whining of our neighbor’s dog begging to get in and visit me.

The interesting thing is that I have been more productive when I have been outside my home. And, unlike I thought, I was able to tune out the noise around me.

I think I will set up shop in those places this winter and see if I can’t crank out more work. We’ll see.

Whether you took the entire summer off or found special spots to write, I hope you are geared up and ready to be productive after summer has slid into the past.

Hoping to be productive wherever I write, Gloria

4 responses to “Where I Wrote This Summer

  1. Shirley Shibley

    Good for you, Gloria, and I’m sure you will be just as productive as always. I’m looking forward to hearing and reading more of your work.

    Shirley

  2. gloriastockstill

    And I look forward to reading yours come the 31st!

    Gloria

  3. Gloria,

    It’s funny how we can produce in less than perfect conditions, or on the run. It sounds like you weren’t going to let anything get in your way.

    Good for you!

    Veronica

  4. gloriastockstill

    Veronica, I guess we really can do things we didn’t think we could. Now I know I CAN work in an environment that is not noiseless.

    Gloria

Leave a Reply

