A Change of Scenery

Nancy on Sunnymeade Ranch Lake PICT1813

When I was a child, I loved to read in fun places. I read Pride and Prejudice while floating on a raft in the middle of the pond on my family’s dairy farm. I read Little Women while perched up high in an apple tree. I even loved to read while flip-flopped upside-down in a cozy recliner with my feet sticking high up in the air.

For the month of August on our blog, we’ll be sharing about where we are writing this summer during summer vacation. Just thinking about this prospect inspired me to be creative about where I write. Far too often, I write sitting in my computer chair staring at my computer screen. Not a very inspiring environment day after day after day!

So yesterday, my family took a little excursion in a paddle boat on a lake near my son’s house. I decided to have some fun and write while floating around in the beautiful calmness of a sunny summer’s day. We stopped in the middle of the lake and I dangled my feet over the side of the boat…and wrote.

Peaceful surroundings enveloped us as we floated in the stillness and calm. Water lapped softly against the side of our boat while a duck swam by. A cool breeze freshened our spirits and refreshed our souls as a welcome relief from the hot sunshine beaming down from a crystal blue sky. The crazy busyness of life faded away, and I enjoyed writing in my special journal I brought along just for this purpose.

I’m so thankful for the opportunity to have a change of scenery as I wrote. I plan to do it again…soon. Only next time, there’s a certain tree I’m thinking of that I’m sure has a low enough branch just perfect for climbing and sitting and…writing.

-contributed by Nancy I. Sanders

7 responses to “A Change of Scenery

  1. Oh, how lovely! This took me back to the time I climbed a fig tree and, hidden from view, wrote little nothings in a notebook. How exciting it was to hide and write. I hope I can capture that feeling this summer.

    Marilyn

  2. sherylcrawford

    This is so very sweet and inspiring, Nancy! Great picture to go with it. I love scene in my head of you, as a girl, sitting upside-down in a recliner with your feet in the air—and you were reading! Ha! When you climb that tree you’re thinking about you probably should sit straight up (o;
    Sherri

  3. gloriastockstill

    What a wonderful place to write! Now I’m thinking of where I might want to scratch out a few sentences.
    Gloria

  4. Ladies,

    You’re such a gift to me that I’m awarding you the Premios Dardos Award. Please pop in to my blog at http://www.jeanmatthewhallwords.blogspot.com to check it out.

    Blessings,
    Jean

  5. Thank you girlfriends, for such encouraging words! I hope you have fun looking for special places to write this summer, too. And Jean–wow! What an awesome award!!!!! Thank you! Now we get to pass this award on to others, too. Hugs, Nancy

  6. What a lovely retreat! It sounds like the perfect way to spend a summer afternoon. I hope it brought refreshment of mind, spirit and inspiration.
    -Veronica

  7. Shirley Shibley

    What fun to know of another tree climber! Wasn’t it exciting to climb up there and look down on the world? I was sure they couldn’t see me if I sat quietly. Too bad I didn’t write stories down while I was up there, playing out the stories in my head.

    But I think it was all training anyway for what I do now.

    Feet in the water–doesn’t that sound good today!

    Shirley

Leave a Reply

