Some Parting Words for July

Since I was the first one to post on this topic (Advice to Writers) and I’m almost the last one to post for this month, I’d like to share some advice I recently gave myself.

I realized that there are times when I need to let go.  For example, do I need to move from one genre to another in my writing?  Or, perhaps I should put aside, at least for a while, that book manuscript that has been submitted countless times with no success, so I can concentrate on other writing.  Maybe a certain conference or workshop, good as it is, has nothing more to offer me and I’ll want to re-think the money I would spend going to it 

I believe that when I can let go of things that aren’t working any longer, I am opening myself more fully to the blessings and opportunities that God has waiting for me.  But I need to “unclutter” my life in order to be able to accept them.

I came to this conclusion, in part, when I took my grand-daughter to see the movie “Up.”  One of the themes in this movie is how we carry so many things with us on our life’s journey, and many of them have served their purpose.  In order to live more fully and happily, we often need to let these things go, difficult as it might be.  Even more helpful, and profound, was this Bible reading I discovered at about the same time.

 “So if anyone is in Christ, there is a new creation:  everything old has passed away; see, everything has become new!”  (2 Corinthians 5:17)

Reading this gave me great peace of mind, and I’m now eagerly awaiting what God has planned for me next!

Contributed by Marjorie Flathers

8 responses to “Some Parting Words for July

  1. That’s beautiful, Marge. We often get so caught up in what we THINK we should be doing — or what others TELL us we should be doing — that we forget to pray about it and listen for direction. I think we all can benefit for your advice!

    Marilyn

  2. Thanks so much, Marilyn. I’m glad these words spoke to you! Marge

  3. Marge, I have been guilty of a cluttered life, reading websites, going to conferences that are not really that beneficial, reading books instead of writing. I am trying to unclutter my life. Thanks for the reminder!
    Gloria

  4. Excellent advice, Marge! Letting go of some things, especially those that aren’t working or whose time has yet to arrive, is hard to do sometimes. I hope the best for those of us who need hit the reset button. Thanks for the reminder.
    -Veronica

  5. Oh, Marge, this was BEAUTIFUL and so true.
    We all need to let go of things throughout our lives and it can be hard, even gut wrenching. But when we move on and hit that “reset” button, God has ALWAYS has something else for us to do. Thanks for such a thought provoking post!
    Sherri

  6. Thanks so much, Gloria, Veronica, and Sherri. I’m glad these words spoke to you, too, as I felt them quite deeply myself. Marge

  7. Shirley Shibley

    I agree with your advice, Marge, and thank you for it. As I look at my own writing life I see several places where I need to put that advice to work.The “crooked trail” to Oregon and California was pretty cluttered with favorite but useless items as the pioneers lightened the wagons so they could make those grades.

    My writing wagon will be sturdier too if I throw aside the useless and time-stealing substitutes for hard work.

    Shirley

  8. What a GREAT analogy, Shirley, with the idea of the pioneers having to throw out, along the way, things that were dear to them…yet they needed to, in order to be able to complete the journey! Perfect…and thanks. Marge

Leave a Reply

