Not Unto Us

As a writer who is a Christian, I have a higher calling because I have been hand-picked by the King of kings to be His scribe. Therefore, one Scripture stands out to me as the best advice for a writer, “Not unto us, O LORD, not unto us, but to Your name give glory…” (Psalm 115:1a). When my focus is on God, and not on me, then my writing will give Him glory.

Does this mean I have to only write Christian material? Absolutely not. I can write whatever I want. But my worldview needs to come from a Christian perspective so that the topics I write are pleasing to Him. As Philippians 4:8 reminds us, “…whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy–meditate on these things.”

Shouldn’t we be trying to write for Him than the world anyway? Isn’t there enough garbage to read as it is?

-contributed by Catherine L. Osornio

3 responses to “Not Unto Us

  1. Catherine, I agree! I want to write things that will honor God. That can be done when I write for the secular market as well as the Christian.

    Gloria

  2. Catherine, Yes! Philippians 4:8 is the grid with which we are to see everything in life. The Holy Spirit who indwells us enable us to do that whether we write for the Christian or the secular market. Wonderful post!
    Sherri

  3. Shirley Shibley

    Such good advice, Veronica, and may each of His chosen scribes always remember this. Some of the things we are called to write are actually unpleasant, (such as truth about abuse),but if God wants the information out there, may we be obedient to the call for His glory.

    I hope we Wordsmiths will continue to be a support and accountability group so we will all stay on the right track.

    Shirley

Leave a Reply

