Creative Advice

I didn’t start out wanting to write. In fact, it was only about seven or eight years ago that I felt the Lord confirming this was His calling for my life. Therefore, I don’t have a plethora of writing quotes to fall back on, especially beyond what my colleagues have shared.

So as I was praying about what to write, I heard a radio interview that stirred my heart. A Christian commentator was introducing a musician, saying how creative and talented this man was in a variety of areas. He then said, “…our creativity can be an act of worship.”

I liked that, especially in regards to writing. God has given writers a talent where they can use their creativity to weave facts and ideas and information into stories, articles, plays, and reports. When I use my writing talent with the knowledge that it comes from God, then I am in fact worshipping Him because I am using the gift He gave me.

So as you write, realize that you have been given a gift to use. Then use that gift in a positive way that would be pleasing to the Lord. You, too, can make your creativity an act of worship.

Contributed by Catherine L. Osornio

3 responses to “Creative Advice

  1. Catherine, I love this post. I’m going to print it out and put it on my bulletin board. I need to be reminded that sitting down at the computer every morning is something God wants me to do.

    When I write in my journal, I’ll feel that I’m saying, “Good morning, Lord. When I jot down some notes or edit a ms. while waiting in a doctor’s office, I’ll thank God for giving me a few quiet minutes. What a wonderful feeling it is to look upon the use of my talent as a form of worship. Thank you, dear friend for reminding me!

    Marilyn

  2. Oh, thank you for this precious reminder, Catherine!
    -Nancy

  3. Shirley Shibley

    Wonderful, Catherine, and just what I need to keep going. I think my focus has been more on the fruit of writing rather than worship. Now I see how misled I was! Thanks.

    Shirley

Leave a Reply

