Do Not Be Afraid

The best advice I ever received as a writer was when the Holy Spirit led me to the Scripture, Isaiah 8:11-14a, NLT:

The Lord has said to me in the strongest terms: “Do not think like everyone else does. Do not be afraid that some plans conceived behind closed doors will be the end of you. Do not fear anything except the Lord Almighty. He alone is the Holy One. If you fear Him, you need fear nothing else. He will keep you safe.”

Here is how the Holy Spirit spoke this Scripture into my writer’s heart:

The Lord has said to me in the strongest terms: “Do not think like every other writer does. Do not be afraid that some plan conceived by editors behind closed doors at a meeting in a publishing house will be the end of your manuscript or your career as a writer. Do not fear anything except the Lord Almighty. He alone is the Holy One. If you fear Him, you need fear nothing else. He will keep you and your manuscripts and your career as a writer safe.”

Amen!

-contributed by Nancy I. Sanders

8 responses to “Do Not Be Afraid

  1. What an excellent, applicable verse. Thank you for posting it, along with what it means to you – it definitely resonates with me, too.

  2. I’m so glad this ministered to your heart, too!-Nancy

  3. WOW, Nancy. You really HEARD God’s words and applied them perfectly! And your career (and your life) are living proof of how listening to and living God’s words make all the difference. One of my favorite hymns that we’ve been singing in our church for many years is titled “Be Not Afraid,” and it always brings me comfort when I remember the words, especially in times of stress or indecision. Thanks for sharing this powerful testimony.
    Love, Marge

  4. You’re so welcome, Marge! I’m glad this brings comfort and hope to you, too.
    -Nancy

  5. Oh! The POWER of the living Word!
    Thank you, Nancy for bringing it right down to writers town!
    Sherri

  6. Yes, Sherri, isn’t God’s Word powerful and perfect for our deepest needs? -Nancy

  7. Shirley Shibley

    I agree with the others. Great Scripture and great application. Thanks for reminding us of it.

    Shirley

  8. Amen to all of the above . . . I often turn to Isaiah for words of comfort, hope, and wisdom. In fact, those pages in my Bible are getting pretty dog-eared and worn. Isn’t it wonderful how the Scriptures reach out to us even when we don’t always know what we are asking for?

    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

