Dialoguing

“What’s the topic for the Wordsmith’s blog for June?” a curious blogger asked.

“It’s dialogue,” Catherine answered.

“Dialogue? Why is that important?”

Catherine thought a moment then said, “Dialogue is a way to carry your story along. Your characters come alive by their words.”

“Oh, I see,” said the curious blogger. “Instead of writing what a character thinks, you give life to their words so they speak for themselves.”

“Exactly. But dialogue needs to feel natural, as if you were having a conversation with your characters. I find it helpful to make my characters respond to the situations in my mind, and then I just type their words onto my page.”

“Sounds like something I need to try,” the curious blogger uttered. “I’m looking forward to this new topic.”

And I hope you will, too, as you read our Dialogue posts throughout this month!

Contributed by Catherine L. Osornio

One response to “Dialoguing

  1. What a great introduction! This is so much fun! Great job, Catherine!
    Veronica

Leave a Reply

