Don’t Look at the Odds

My writing career has never been “normal.” I didn’t grow up wanting to be a writer, I was published within two years of starting to write, and I got a contract for my first picture book within six years of writing (and I didn’t have an agent or belong to SCBWI at the time).

The odds were definitely stacked against me, but thankfully I happened to be a quick learner, I had great mentors who gave me terrific leads, and God placed me in the right places at the right times.

If you’re looking to break into picture books, don’t give up. Work hard at your craft, join critique groups, learn, learn, learn, follow up on leads, target your publisher, and keep trying. The odds may not look great, but you never know when your turn will come up.

Contributed by Catherine L. Osornio

3 responses to “Don’t Look at the Odds

  1. gloriastockstill

    Catherine, your quick rise to the top does not surprise me. You are a gifted writer!

    Gloria

  2. Catherine,
    Thank you for the encouraging words!
    Veronica

  3. Yes, it’s nice to know the unusual can still happen, and it happened to the right writer in you.

    Shirley

Leave a Reply

