Tell of God’s Glorious Deeds!

O my people, listen to my teaching.
Open your ears to what I am saying,
for I will speak to you in a parable.
I will teach you hidden lessons from our past–
stories we have heard and know,
stories our ancestors handed down to us.
We will not hide these truths from our children
but will tell the next generation
about the glorious deeds of the Lord.
We will tell of His power and the mighty miracles He did.
For He issued His decree to Jacob; He gave His law to Israel.
He commanded our ancestors to teach them to their children,
so the next generation might know them–
even the children not yet born–
that they in turn might teach their children.
So each generation can set its hope anew on God,
remembering His glorious miracles
and obeying His commands.
-Psalm 78:1-7, NLT

-contributed by Nancy I. Sanders

2 responses to “Tell of God’s Glorious Deeds!

  1. Thanks for the inspiration from the Scriptures, Nancy. This is a favorite of mine, one that I remind myself when I wonder about writing for children. Pretty clear, isn’t it?

    Shirley

  2. This is an AWESOME Psalm for Christian writers! Thank you for sharing it with us. I’m going to print out this Psalm in a nice font and put it on my bulletin board or perhaps a small frame. Our instructions are pretty clear aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

