How Nonfiction Launched My Writing Career

I’d like to share with you how writing nonfiction started my career.

In November of 2000, after feeling God was leading me to pursue getting my work published, I signed up to attend Glorieta Christian Writers’ Conference. To say I was scared and had no idea what I was doing would be a great understatement!

I had a fiction book manuscript I had worked on for months and wanted to get it into the hands of an editor. The information about Glorieta had stated you could sign  up for interviews with editors at the conference.

I sent in my money, typed my manuscript and packed my bag. I had four re-told Bible stories I had written so I threw them into my briefcase. At least they would help an editor see my style of writing. I boarded the plane to New Mexico with great hope that someone would like my fiction manuscript.

As an introvert by nature, it was not easy to be surrounded by people I did not know. I wanted to go to my room and huddle there until it was time to go home. I had scrimped to get enough money for this trip and I determined I would not let the opportunity pass me by!

I signed up to talk to several children’s editors. I would have fifteen minutes with each of them. Could I convince them my fiction story was good enough to be published? I hoped so. I asked God to guide me, then went to bed. What would tomorrow bring? A contract? Rejection? I didn’t know. I’d just have to trust God to guide me.

More on the 27th-Gloria

2 responses to “How Nonfiction Launched My Writing Career

  1. You have me interested and looking forward to the next chapter!

    Shirley

  2. Gloria McQueen Stockstill

    Shirley, in all the hustle and bustle, I hope I don’t forget to post!!

    Happy Thanksgiving, Gloria

Leave a Reply

