Not All My Own

I don’t know how it happened. I set out my work area to be a productive place for me to compose and to create, but I’m noticing that I’m being ousted bit by bit. It turns out my children like my workspace as well.

           

Because I have other responsibilities besides writing, I am not always at my desk. If my kids are home, it’s not uncommon to find at least one of them writing out their homework or drawing pictures on my spot.

           

They love it when I’m working on my laptop in my room, because then they can play games on the main computer. Since my “office” is in the living room, my chair gets used as an extra comfy place to watch TV or as a mini-amusement ride as they spin and spin and spin in circles.

 

I do get a few hours each day during the school year when I can say, “All mine!” I guess I shouldn’t complain too much. They just better not start thinking about redecorating; at least, not yet.

 

Contributed by Catherine L. Osornio

4 responses to “Not All My Own

  1. This is cute, Catherine, and I can certainly understand your frustration! But believe me, before you know it, they’ll all have left the nest. I know it’s hard to believe now, but it all goes by SO SWIFTLY! So try to enjoy it as much as you can. And…impossible as this seems right now, before you know it, somebody will be saying, “Grammie, can I play Spider Solitaire on your computer?” And what a blessing and a joy that is!!
    Marge

  2. Shirley Shibley

    Yes, I remember when I shared my “office” with my 3 kids. And had to stop and clear the table off so I could put dinner on my “desk.”

    Like Marge says, all too soon your office partners will roost somewhere else.

    Shirley

  3. marilyn donahue

    Catherine, this really took me back to the days when I had the drop-down front of a bookcase for my typewriter and the empty space behind it to store my papers. I pulled up a couple of chairs to hold research materials. The more space I acquired over the years, the more clutter I created. I think there must be a lesson here somewhere!

  4. gloriastockstill

    Catherine, treasure their interruptions. I so miss having mine underfoot! Of course, I didn’t exactly think that way when they WERE underfoot! 😀

    Gloria

Leave a Reply

