A Most Unusual Workspace

Well, if you read Gloria’s wonderful post about the writing workspace, then you’ve read about my workspace as well. She was honest. A lot of writers feel a kinship with Gloria (including me!) As I said in a comment box, she is a productive writer. Boy, does she get things done and that’s what counts.

Since Gloria described our workspace so well you’d think I’d have nothing more to say about this topic. Oh, I always have something to say (o;

If you are a Christian and God has called you to write, He will provide the workspace that’s right for you, and it will be His timing. In my case He chose a most unusual and unexpected first workspace…my Sealy Posturepedic. My bed.

In the early 1990’s I was bedridden with a mysterious illness. The pain was excruciating at times. My cognitive abilities were impaired as I went in and out of a mental fog. For seven weeks nearly all I could do was get up (with help) to take a shower, and sit in a chair to eat the meals my mom prepared. The exhaustion was overwhelming. My parents graciously cared for our two young sons during the day until my husband came home… while I made a major dent in our mattress.

It was during that time that I felt an intimacy with God unlike I had ever experienced. I read the Psalms for comfort and spiritual strength. Thoughts of how God had comforted me throughout my life filled me with an overwhelming passion to write a book…a book on the Psalms for children. Was this mental fog clouding my judgment? I had never written a book  in my life! Was I crazy? Write a book from bed?

My writing supplies consisted of pens, legal pads, and every version of the Bible my family could find and spread out over my covers. I pulled myself up, leaned against two pillows, and began writing. I wrote from the workspace that God had chosen for me at that time. Alone in that quiet room, I heard His still small voice in my heart urging me to write.

Dear Christian writer, is your writing workspace less than ideal? If it is, do not be discouraged. Is it the kitchen table? A little corner in your  living or dining room? Is it your bedroom or even your bed?  No matter. If He has called you to write…you will!

Today, I have my own office. I have a comfortable chair, a good computer, a large window, a nice desk, file cabinets and bookshelves, and a paper tiger! It’s a blessing to have this office, but I have to say that my first workspace holds the dearest memories…and as I look up at a framed book cover of Psalms for a Child’s Heart on my office wall, I’m reminded why.

Contributed by Sheryl Crawford

4 responses to “A Most Unusual Workspace

  1. marilyn donahue

    What a beautiful article — an inspiration for all of us to remember — that we can be creative wherever God puts us! Marilyn

  2. This is a very inspiring post, Sherri, and it echoes the determination you have shown to use God’s gifts, despite major illness. In non-spiritual terms, when life gave you lemons, you made lemonade!
    Marge

  3. I agree on the inspiration in your blog, Sherri. This would make a great devotional for writers and others. In fact, I’d like to read this to the members of Nancy’s CHAIRS group since devotions for that are my job. OK?

    Keep writing for His glory and the edification of others.
    Shirley

  4. Thanks Sherri! God provides a workspace no matter where we are! How blessed we are for your response to his prompting during your illness. Thanks for sharing your inspiring moment.
    Veronica

Leave a Reply

