Ever Changing Goals

I had definite goals growing up. I wanted to go to college to become a scientist. I liked the idea of looking into microscopes, telescopes, and test tubes, and jotting down vital information that would lead me to be counted among the greats like Curie, Pasteur, Galileo, and Da Vinci. But I also wanted to be a detective like Sherlock Holmes, Trixie Belden, and Nancy Drew. Then there was the fun I had drawing my own comic strips, following the examples of my favorite superhero, Superman. Maybe I should be a famous cartoonist like Curt Swan or Charles Schultz.

As I grew older, my goals shifted. I ended up graduating college with a film degree instead of the engineering degree I had originally planned to achieve. Instead of becoming a famous cinematographer as I had hoped, I worked as an office supervisor to make ends meet during a very long actor’s strike.           

When God captured my heart and I became a believer in the Lord Jesus Christ, my goals shifted again. I started seeking His will for my life instead of my own. I married and began to raise four children, involving myself not only in their upbringing, but in their education as I homeschooled them for several years.

Then, through a friend, God showed me that I needed to add a new goal. This time He showed me that I was to write! I hadn’t ever seriously considered writing as a career, yet when I saw confirmation after confirmation in my life, it all made sense. All the areas that had interested me in my youth could be encapsulated in writing! I could research famous people or inventions for stories. I could create my own detectives and super heroes. I could set up a scene on a piece of paper instead of on film. The possibilities were endless.

In the last five years as I’ve given my writing goals to God, I’ve had some amazing publishing doors opened. He continues to give me new objectives to follow that challenge and develop me as a person and a writer.

Do you need some new goals in your writing journey? Try asking God for them. You may be surprised how He blesses your willingness to depend on Him.

Contributed by Catherine L. Osornio

4 responses to “Ever Changing Goals

  1. Marjorie Flathers

    VERY interesting, Catherine….and definitely words to live by! I enjoyed reading it very much.
    Marge

  2. Sherri Crawford

    Catherine, this is so inspiring! Thanks for sharing your journey with us. I especially LOVE your last line—“He blesses our willingness to depend on Him.”
    Love, Sherri

  3. Wow, Catherine! This is so awesome to see a glimpse of the journey God has brought you along as He called you to be His scribe! Love, Nancy

  4. Catherine,
    What a beautiful path you are following! Enjoy the journey!
    Veronica

Leave a Reply

