Don’t Stop the Flow

I’ve noticed, as I spend more time on my laptop, that I edit as I type. Instead of letting my creative process flow and allowing my thoughts to transmit themselves onto the screen, I will type, edit, type, edit, and type quite a bit. This can be helpful at times, but I need to be careful that I don’t stifle my creativity because of the constant interruptions.

My mind keeps thinking I am using a pencil and a yellow legal pad instead of a keyboard. If I make a mistake on my legal pad, I either erase and rewrite or cross out and write above the line. I can’t do that with a laptop. I can delete, retype, and insert. I can move, reformat, and emphasize all with a click of some buttons.

What I need to do is just type, type, type and worry about correcting later. Of course, it’s a hard habit to break. I’m so used to editing while typing. But if it affects how my ideas move from my brain onto the “page,” then I need to reevaluate how I work. I need to let the flow of the ideas take precedence.

Self-editing is important, but it mustn’t stifle the story. Write first. You will always have time to edit later.

Contributed by Catherine L. Osornio

3 responses to “Don’t Stop the Flow

  1. gloriastockstill

    Catherine, I have the same problem! It is almost impossible for me to NOT stop and make that correction. I wonder if it has anything to do with being a perfectionist?

  2. Catherine, I do this too. I think it’s one of the reasons why it takes so long for me to write something. Thanks for the observation.
    -Veronica

  3. Shirley Shibley

    Catherine, a good observation and as you see, hits the mark with others. I’ve pretty much disciplined myself to type, type, type, except when the red lines jump off the page at me. What a help it is to get through the article or story first, then change hats and edit. Otherwise, it’s too easy for my train of thought to get derailed!

    Shirley

Leave a Reply

