A Funny Thing Happened at the Critique Group

Since I don’t drive on the freeway, I usually ride to the Montclair Plaza for our Wordsmiths meeting with my friend and co-member, Marilyn Donahue. However, Marilyn was on vacation at the time of our last meeting, so my husband Wayne, bless him, offered to drive me there and wait for me.

When we arrived, a couple of members who had met him before were there and said “Hi,” and Wayne chose to sit at a table on the other side of a small divider in the Food Court where we meet. Here he was happy to relax and read his Sports Illustrated. Other members arrived and the meeting began.

 Around 11:30, I noticed Wayne going to the pizza counter to get lunch. As he returned with this tray, I leaned back in my chair and called out, “Hey, Good-Lookin.’ What did you get for lunch?”

Never were there such stunned looks on my fellow writers faces! Those who knew Wayne had forgotten he was there, and others had no idea who he was! To a person, they all wondered WHY I was “flirting” with this strange (yet handsome!) man. As one member put it, “This is a side of Marge we didn’t know about!”

Of course, I immediately explained who he was, and Wayne came to our table and chatted for a few minutes. We all had a good laugh.

Wordsmiths is always a terrific gathering, and we all look forward to it. But this time there certainly was an added note of fun and hilarity!

Contributed by Marjorie Flathers

5 responses to “A Funny Thing Happened at the Critique Group

  1. Sherri Crawford

    Marjorie, I was there (o: You had me scared for a minute or two. I thought you were Marjorie’s twin blurting out a flirtatious remark to a handsome stranger in the mall. It WAS really funny! We’re not serious ALL the time.
    Sheryl

  2. Thanks so much, Sherri, for your comment! That WAS funny, especially because it was totally unplanned! I’ve been enjoying telling all my other friends that story. And, that’s what makes our group so great. We get a lot of serious work done, but we also have such a great time. Marge

  3. Marjorie,

    That was hilarious!

    Thanks for sharing. (“Hi, Wayne!”)

    Donna

  4. gloriastockstill

    Marge, what a guy to drive his wife and wait all that time for her. You’ve got a real jewel! No wonder you want to flirt with him!!!
    Gloria

  5. Now I’m really sorry I missed that meeting! I can imagine the shocked looks. What a fun blog to read!

Leave a Reply

